Everything You Need To Know About 소녀시대[So Nyuh Shi Dae]

Archive for January 3, 2012

111231 Past photos of SNSD’s Jessica without makeup attract interest


Just recently, a netizen uploaded some old photos of SNSD‘s Jessica onto a Korean online community site under the caption, “Jessica’s past photo“.

These photos were taken from Mnet‘s reality show, ‘SNSD Girls Go to School‘, which was filmed during the group’s debut period. With cameras monitoring their daily lives, it’s inevitable that a member would be seen without makeup. For her one-on-one interview with Mnet, Jessica opted to show a more natural side by going bare-faced into her video shots.

Netizens commented, “She looks a bit different, and yet the same,”“Jessica still had that sharp look back then,” and ”She looked innocent back then, but today she’s glamorous.“

Source: Allkpop


[January 3rd, 2012]Sunny thanked Taeyeon and Seohyun for sharing their voice-dubbing experiences


Sunny took up voice-dubbing challenge for the first time and her voice will be featured in the movie ‘Koala Kid: Birth of A Hero’.

On December 3rd, Sunny attended the media premiere of the movie ‘Koala Kid: Birth of A Hero’ at Lotte Cinema in Jayang-dong, Seoul. At the event, Sunny said, “Although this is my first time doing voice-dubbing, Taeyeon and Seohyun who had some voice-dubbing experience in the past helped me a lot. Thanks for their help, I felt more at ease during recording”. Taeyeon and Seohyun both participated in the voice-dubbing for the animation ‘Super Bad’ back in 2010.

When asked if she wants to try real acting instead of voice dubbing, Sunny replied, “Rather than going straight into real acting, I would like to take one step at a time to learn. When I feel that I’m prepared for it, I will take up the challenge”.

Sunny added, “While I was doing voice-dubbing, I really enjoyed and learned a lot from it. If I have a chance, I will do much better next time”.

In the animated movie, Sunny plays ‘Miranda’, a tough and beautiful Koala who helped the main character ‘Johnny’ to rescue Australia’s natural habitat.

‘Koala Kid: Birth of A Hero’ which is the product of a Korean-American joint-project by Director Lee KyungHo (directed ‘Pi Story’ and ‘Garfield – Get Real’) and Chris Denk, the (writer of ‘Alpha and Omega’) is a story about ‘Johnny’, a lonely circus koala who made friends with other animals and became a hero as they embarked on an adventure to save Australia’s natural habitat.

Besides Sunny, SHINee’s Taemin and actor Yoon DaHoon also participated in the voice-dubbing. ‘Koala Kid: Birth of A Hero’ is set for release on January 12th.

Credit: kukimedia.co.kr/newsen.com/fanwonder.com


[120103]Sunny Reveals Her Thoughts On Acting and Gives Her Thanks to Taeyeon and Seohyun


On January 3rd, Girls’ Generation’s Sunny attended a press conference for “Koala Kid: Birth of a Hero”, where she was asked if there was a reason she has yet to try serious acting, despite having potential as an actress.

Sunny gave a cute response and said, “Thank you for saying that I have potential as an actress. If there is a good opportunity and a character that suits me well, I really want to try out acting.”

She revealed, “It is an area that I want to try out, but my honest intention is to learn little by little rather than to jump straight into acting. I still believe that I’m not ready and will actively challenge myself when I am.”

When discussing her dubbing challenge, Sunny showed her strong ambitions by saying, “I had a fun time while dubbing.” However, always looking to improve herself, she continued with, “Of course, there are a lot of regrets. I thought that I should do better. I won’t leave with any regrets next time.”

Sunny also took time during the press conference to thank Taeyeon and Seohyun for giving her advice on dubbing, saying, “Taeyeon and Seohyun tried out dubbing first. Their advice was really helpful and made me feel more comfortable with dubbing. Thank you.” Taeyeon and Seohyun previously voice-acted for the Korean dub of “Despicable Me” in 2010.

For “Koala Kid: Birth of a Hero”, Sunny will be voice-acting as a koala named “Miranda”. She caused laughter by saying, “I really like this Miranda character and I sympathized with why she had to be strong. I understood how Miranda felt because I’m in a group. I was drawn in more because the picture was pretty.”

When SHINee’s Taemin was later asked if he had any thoughts on acting again, he answered with, “I acted in a sitcom before and if there is another opportunity, I want to try again. Dubbing was a great experience too.” Sunny said, “I made an appearance on that sitcom as a cameo. If I get the chance to play an ordinary character like that, I think I’ll grab it. But doing well is more important.” She received a loud round of applause for her witty response. (Editor’s note: Sunny and Taemin are referring to “Taehee Hyekyo Jihyun”)

Sources: Newsen1, Newsen2
Translated by: minigiglo@soshified
Edited by: bhost909@soshified
Contributors: FrozenArctic@soshified, SeraphKY@soshified
Credit: Soshified


[120102]Girls’ Generation Leaves New Year’s Wishes for SONEs


As is becoming a tradition, Girls’ Generation members have once again left New Year’s greetings for SONEs on their official website. Each girl left “Happy New Year” wishes in their messages, as well as what they hope their fans will get in 2012.

Taeyeon: Going to make everything! Mine this year! Always hang in there^^ Hwaitaeng

Jessica: Have a ve~ry happy new year~ Let’s spend 2012 together too

Tiffany: I will pray that you have a happy and healthy 2012 year^^ Give SNSD lots of love next year, too

Hyoyeon: 2012!! Get lots of good fortune! And have a happy new year! ^.^

Yuri: It’s 2012. Have a happy new year, full of happiness, full of thoughts of Girls’ Generation

Sooyoung: May 2012 be full of good things. Happy new year

Yoona: Everyone~ have a happy new year, and become rich!! Another new year with Girls’ Generation

Seohyun: I hope you can make it a great year by making everything~ you plan come true~! Happy new year

Source: girlsgeneration.smtown.com
Translated by: ch0sshi@soshified, minigiglo@soshified
Edited by: residentbenchwarmer@soshified
Credit: Soshified